Shap, Nr Penrith, Cumbria, CA10 3QU

01931 716628

accomodation accomodation accomodation accomodation

Testimonials

From start to finish everything about the room, facilities, catering and staff was excellent. We had a really useful and productive away day event and a large part of this was due to the venue and the team involved with organising this. A big thank you from me and my team. We are hoping to repeat the event in the near future and due to the excellent experience we had at Shap Wells, we will be eager to rebook the venue...Paul Jackson, Operations Manager, Highways England Meeting 28th June 2017

Dear Charles...Thanks for another successful day at Shap Wells. Everything was up to the normal high standard. The lunch was excellent, actually much better that December last, with the starters better and a full selection of vegetables. The meats are always excellent...Thanks again, Regards, Richard Preston, Western Front Association Meeting and Lunch, 25 June 2017

Relaxed, Friendly, Great Service...thanks as always Ian Rankine, Mars Drinks Meeting, 14 June 2017

Another excellent meeting, hosted and facilitated by Charlie. Nothing is too much trouble...Many Thanks, Lisa Williamson, Emis Health Ltd, 12 June 2017

Very pleasant and professional experience. Room prepared prior to arrival, water/coffee available as arranged. Will be using the facilities in future...Nick Doyle, Zurich Conference, 7th June 2017

Dear Mira...Thank you so much for a fabulous week at Shap wells hotel! After a rocky start that was remedied quickly we all had a brilliant time and would certainly recommend you to everyone!  We enjoyed ourselves each evening helped by your brilliant staff! nothing was too much trouble, a massive thank you to all the staff who worked so hard especially Robert and everyone in every department of the Hotel. Our room was cleaned everyday nothing was missed well done! Please pass our thanks to everyone concerned....Best wishes Deborah and The Singing Seagulls, 27 May for 7 Nights

Excellent day, everybody very attentive and all our needs were met. Lunches were lovely, the tables were set out well with all that we needed with refreshments. Shap Wells provide a fantastic service and I would recommend to anybody to hold their meetings at Shap Wells...Craig Scott, Managers (Carlisle Mencap) Meeting Coordinator, 10 May 2017

Hi Mira...I would just like to record the thanks and appreciation of all our club members for the great time we all had during our visit to your hotel.The service we received from all of your colleagues was excellent, prompt and efficient response to all requests and always delivered with a friendly smile.I would also like to thank you personally for the help to myself prior to our arrival, dealing with my many queries and alterations. We presented a tip of £100 to the restaurant manager for the hotel group tip pot, as we appreciate that all of your colleagues participate in delivering such good service, not just those that we see in the restaurant! Many thanks again from myself and all the club members...Regards, Steve Alewood, Stockton Rambling Club,5th & 6th May 2017.

Thank you all for a lovely stay at Shap Wells last week (Mothers Union Members) of many branches in Cumbria Diocese really enjoyed our stay, didnt hear one word of complaint, only praise so that a feather in your cap. The food and accommodation, caring attitude were all highly praised. Thank you once again from Shap Mother's Union...p.s. Red Squirrels added to our enjoyment...Mrs Phyllis Brown

Excellent room, fab service, great food. Charlie was brilliant and really helpful with everything from booking right through to the end of the meeting...brilliant & we'll be back!...Lisa Williamson, Meeting Coordinator, Emis Health Ltd, 8 May 2017

Very positive comments from all delegates, Dealt well with any problems, food & service excellent, friendly staff, rooms good, thanks to all staff, Jane Conlan, Carlisle Diocese Mother's Union Conference 3 & 4 May 2017

Hi Charlie..further to our recent conversation I write just say we had another successful day and is thanks to you and the team at Shap Wells. The room was set out perfectly for requirements and there was a good variety of food for lunch. Small issues such as location light switches were dealt with immediately. Thanks for your help. I shall be obliged if you would penciled in the 21 April 2018 for next visit..Ian Hill, Cumbria Historical Industrial Society Conference Coordinator, 22 April 2017

Hello Charlie...On behalf of members from Blackpool Vehicle Preservation Group (BVPG) and the Sunbeam Talbot and Alpine Register (STAR) clubs, a big thank you for helping us to organise a fantastic weekend last week. Everyone enjoyed their stay, the hotel is a perfect base for car trips to the Dales and the Lake District. Thank you again...Kind Regards, Barrie and Eunice Clark. April 2017

Thanks again a good day with all that we needed...see you all soon...Ian Rankine, Mars Drinks, Meeting Coordinator, 26 April 2017

Sir...The feedback received from our members, and guests, was overwhelmingly positive and I have been asked to pass on our appreciation for your part in contributing to a very very successful weekend. The whole weekend, from our first welcome to our farewell, was an enjoyable experience due, in no small way, to the welcoming, cheerful and helpful members of your staff. We would like our thanks, and appreciation, to be passed on to all those involved in providing such excellent service and we are already looking forward to next years event...Again, our thanks, Regards, Harold Archer. Chairman 22 Group R.O.C.A.  Residential Reunion & Dinner 31 March - 2nd April

Hi Charlie...I am just sending you an email to thank you for having us at your hotel for our Golden Wedding anniversary party. Everyone really enjoyed themselves the staff were brilliant and the food was really excellent the roast beef I really need to say was the nicest I have tasted when eating out in a long time. If you would just pass on my comments to your staff you are a really great hotel for functions and special occasions or even just to spend a night away to a lovely place for the night. We will definitely be back hopefully lots of times. A very big thank you to you...Many thanks

Dorothy and Keith Davies, 50th Anniversary Dinner, 1st April 2017


Hotel location excellent, accommodation excellent, flexibility in coping with varying timescales over two days excellent. Conference room well sized for needs, equipment all perfect...Honeywell Conference 14 & 15 March 2017

Hi Charlie...I would just like to take this opportunity to say a Big Thank You to yourself , Robert , And all the hard working staff for helping the Soul and Motown Weekender a great success.  Everyone who we spoke to over he weekend said the hotel was fantastic the staff were very polite and helpful and the Food was very nice.  The Whole weekend was very enjoyable from start to finish, I am sure everyone will be booking for next years event March 9th / 10th 2018. I would also like to a  special  thank you to Robert who looked after everyone and made sure everyone was happy. Once again a Big Thank you to everyone at Shap Wells Hotel for making our stay very enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you all in March 2018...Regards, Kevin Sowerby, DJ & Organiser, Soul in the Lakes Weekender, March 2017.

Just come back this was our first visit. Fantastic weekend really friendly people and the music was amazing. Well done everyone involved see you next year xxx To quote the song "It'll never be over for me"...Teresa McNee, March 2017

Had an enjoyable Friday night dancing the night away, thank you to all, and got to mention Tamar, the New Zealand girl working there, you're such a lovely girl...Lynn Van Dyke, March 2017

Just got back from shap wells hotel after a 2 night stay the hotel was in a lovely location, rooms were clean, gorgeous views, staff were very pleasant & helpful will definitely be going back would highly recommend...carlostina98, March 2017

I stayed with my parents for 3 nights and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were clean and well appointed, with the décor being consistent throughout the whole hotel. The hotel is set in a beautifully peaceful location with ample car parking and a stream/river flowing along side. My room had a particularly lovely view looking onto the stream and surrounding countryside. It is also conveniently close to the motorway, however, you wouldn't realise it once you arrive as it is so peaceful. The food at the restaurant always came quickly and the portions were ample, the staff were always happy to help. Wide variety available in the mornings from a cooked breakfast to cereal, toast and porridge. We agreed amongst ourselves that we would return to stay at the hotel again...Nicola S, March 2017

5 of 5 starsJust arrived home after a superb short break with my husband and elderly father. Smallish room but perfectly adequate and clean. My father's single room was spacious and well appointed. From the moment we arrived till leaving, the staff were without exception, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed two excellent evening meals and the breakfasts were hearty with a good choice. The hotel is tucked away in a moorland valley yet close to the motorway and A6. It is very quiet and peaceful with an old fashioned charm about the building. It's a bit tired in places but on the whole we could not fault the Shap Wells and will return...Diane A, March 2017

Recently returned from a 2 night stay, and we definitely would return again. The food was great, both at the bar, and the restaurant. The room was lovely and spacious, with a great view. Many thanks to the staff...Amynutter_92, March 2017

We have just had a 2 night stay. There aren't words to praise the experience enough. We can't wait to book again. The hotel is in a beautiful remote location. The interior is gorgeous and evocative. The staff were friendly, approachable and extremely accommodating. The food was excellent. Overall the experience was one to remember with a smile. We didn't want to check out...Andy S, March 2017

Stayed for 2 nights on a wowcher deal. Hotel and room was clean and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Good location for walkers and separate accommodation available for those with dogs. We had food from the bar menu and the restaurant menu which were very tasty and good value. Fully stocked bar with reasonable prices. Enjoyed our visit very much and would stay again...KittyWiggins, February 2017

Another excellent stay at the Shap Wells Hotel. The evening was brilliant food music accommodation all first class. The venue was well patronised by many returning revellers. Cannot wait for the next event. Well done Team Shap...Arthur G, February 2017

Elizabeth Ann Lamb‎...We attended a family 70th on Sunday the 29th just like to say it was absolutely fantastic , the food was fabulous and the service top class !! Thank you very much , Sue and Bob Cowin , Kirby Lonsdale

After our conversation this afternoon, I would like to thank you and your team for a super night on Saturday 21.01.2017 (The hangover party). Also for the Christmas party tribute to Rod Stewart just brilliant. Therefore we have booked again for next year Saturday hangover party 21.01.2018...Shelly Shaw, 26th January 2017

Stayed here for 1 night last weekend and had a lovely time. We were warmly greeted and invited to join in the hangover party night  Everyone was friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Our room was spacious and well equipped and the breakfast was plentiful. Cant fault the staff, would definately go back...A very warm welcome Tripadvisor 5 of 5 stars yesterday Reviewed by bettytoo

Party night was great. Everyone in our party had a great evening, food was good, entertainment was excellent and we all had a brilliant time...see you all next year...Pauline Satterthwaite, 17 December 2016

Everybody had a great night, already booked for next year...David Alderson, 16 December 2016

A fantastic night as always...Pam Lewis, 17 December 2016

Our party thought it was excellent. Please can I book 30 rooms for next year...Kind Regards Liz Clarke, 17 December 2016

We had a fantastic night on Saturday, everything was spot on. The food was delious and staff very accommodating. The whole party thoroughly enjoyed their evening, many thanks...Donna Park, 17th December 2016

Our party of 10 all thought the same, fabulous food great, room great, staff great, entertainment great, breakfast great. Shall be returning, many thanks to you and staff...Stuart Brown, 16 December 2017

We all had a great night as usual and everyone including two new people are up for doing it all again next year...Linda Yuill, 16 December 2016

Motown night, food, venue, everything brilliant...Merry Christmas...Hazel Raine, 16 December 2016

I must say it was one of the best nights so far, the food was fantastic hot and quick to get out. The Spice girls and disco were excellent. Well done for another year...Margaret Atkinson, 10 December 2016

On Behalf of our party who attended the Rod Stewart Party Night on the 9th...may I say we had a wonderful evening into morning. None of us were ardent Rod Stewart fans but he was ok, but as over the last few years Shap Wells excelled with the meal, service, entertainment and breakfast. Thanks Charlie for getting us the round table and next to our friends the Camptons...Geoff Coward, 9 December 2016

We had a fab night! Food was good...Rod Stewart was good but the songs were all to slow to dance to til the last 3...DJ once again was excellent fantastic choice of music so everyone stayed dancing. The drink prices were very reasonable which makes a nice change in a Hotel. Staff no complaints, all seemed friendly. Rooms clean and tasteful....Breakfast very good!...Overall excellent value for money, it was our second and we'll be returning again next year...thank you Jo Anderson, 9 December 2016

Thank you once gain for our party night on the 3rd December, as always it was fantastic and very well organised. This year is our 4th time for the Fairfoull party and each year we have added to our numbers, and next year we hope tpo be there again...Christine Fairfoull, 3 December 2016

We had a wonderful time at Shap Wells. Nice Room, brilliant staff, good food and a great band...EVERY single member of staff we dealt with was absolutely brilliant. Great price to...Graham & Sheila Wilson

We both had an excellent night, I am so glad I picked it as the place to ask my girlfriend to marry me, luckily she said Yes...Badness awesome...the food was top notch and was still hot when served, which other venues can certainly learn from. Everything else was perfect, the staff were courteous and efficient...Derek Blower, 2 December 2016

Both party nights were fantastic. Badness were a fantastic showband...the meal was lovely and the staff could'nt do enough to help, it was nice to see all with smiling faces...we can't wait to come back next year at Christmas..Tom Heenan, 2 & 3 December 2016

Went to a Christmas Party at Shap Wells Hotel which included; a nights stay, a three course meal and breakfast in the morning. The staff were excellent, always happy to help and nothing was too much. They were all very hardworking and deserve high praise. The party was great. There was great entertainment and the food was delicious. We had a good sized room to stay in. Nice and clean with a very comfy bed! I hope to have another Christmas party here again next year!...Jade C, Tripadvisor Feedback

We go to this hotel every year this year we go November it will be the second time this year fabulous staff and stunning hotel we stay in the old bath house as we take our pet dog...Mich Mellor comments on our Facebook page, 11th October 2016

Rooms well set up. Charlie looks after us very well as always. Finger Buffet was very good. Coffee and tea served on time. Will be back again. Thanks Charlie...p.s. new projector was great...John Baird, Tata Steel ShapFell Meeting coordinator, 10th October 2016

Excellent, no issues, prompt and efficient service. Will use again when the opportunity arises...Howard Todd, Active Cumbria Meeting 7th October 2016.

We both had a great day. The staff were all great. The food was absolutely brilliant...Thanks to everyone for making the day fabulous...Mr & Mrs Hind, Wedding 23rd September 2016

The ceremony room looked great and Federico was very helpful all day, the food was really good and the champagne was nice too. The tables and decorations looked really good too...the breakfast was really good...Mr & Mrs Tunstall, Wedding, 10th September 2016

Great service as usual, lunch very good. Broadband now excellent with all 12 of us logged on. This is a game changer to keep us here...Ian Rankine, Mars Drinks UK

Very cheerful and helpful staff, facilities have been excellent again. Food and drink provided as requested to an excellent standard...Mr Doyle, Zurich Meeting Coordinator

Mailing List Sign Up

* Email Address
* Lists





* = Required Field
Book online Dogs Welcome